Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #80


 
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spines. This is a cool way to spotlight a upcoming release that you're anxious about, as well as checking out what other book lovers are anticipating as well. So, check out my WoW for this week:

OtherboundOtherbound
by Corinne Duyvis
Release date: June 17th 2014
Publisher: Amulet Books

Synopsis via Goodreads:
Everyone has a theory about what’s wrong with Nolan. He has hallucinations. He has seizures. He has an overactive imagination. Or is what Nolan sees whenever he closes his eyes impossibly, fantastically real? 

Nolan longs for a life uninterrupted. Every single time he blinks, he’s transported into the mind of Amara, a girl in another world. As a mute servant who’s tasked with protecting a renegade princess, Amara lives a life of magic and danger and pain; she’s completely unaware that Nolan can see through her eyes. 

Until he becomes more than an observer. Until he learns to control her—and the two of them communicate for the first time. Amara is terrified. Then furious. She’s already spent a lifetime as property and punching bag. The last thing she needs is another force controlling her. 

All Amara and Nolan want is to be free of each other. But Nolan’s breakthrough has dangerous consequences. Now, they’ll have to work together to survive . . . and discover the truth about their connection.

Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis #1)
by Jaclyn Dolamore
Release date: April 22nd 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Synopsis via Goodreads:
Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.

Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.




Why I'm Waiting


I like the concept of Otherbound, aside from the fact that it kinda reminds me of the host, the story does seem interesting and I'd love to find out the end result in both characters's lives. As for Dark Metropolis, I'm sold. Not only is the time period appealing, I like the sound of magic and mystery. Not too happy with the sound that its like Cassandra Clare's series because I didn't enjoy the movie and doubt I'll pick the book up anytime soon, but Dark Metropolis does have my attention regardless.

What are you waiting for?

49 comments:

  1. Ohh both of these picks sound awesome! I love the description of Dark Metropolis, especially how it's like a 1930's theme! Great picks!

    Pavan @ Keep it Fictional

    ReplyDelete
  2. OOoh nice picks! These are new to me! Hope you enjoy them both!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. These are great picks! I haven't heard much about them. Jacklyn Delamore though, is one author whose name I've heard a little of.

    I hope you'll enjoy them when you get to read them.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh wow! How cool does Dark Metropolis sound?! This will have to go on my list. Nice picks! I hope you get them and they are awesome.

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  5. These both sound awesome! Great picks.

    Thanks for stopping by. :)
    Jenea @ Books Live Forever's WoW

    ReplyDelete
  6. I haven't heard of either of these books, but they sound and look awesome! Great picks! Thanks for sharing!

    Here's my WOW.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Otherbound sounds utterly fascinating! Definitely adding it to me TBR. & the City of Bones book is insanely better than the movie, so it might be worth giving a shot! ;)

    Happy Wednesday!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Great picks! I'm especially looking forward to reading Dark Metropolis, it seems sooo good. :)
    Thanks for stopping by my WoW earlier! :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't heard of otherbound, but just added to my wishlist. hope you get to read it soon.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Those do sound like great reads, I think I'll have to check out OTHERBOUND too. :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. They both sound so good...hope you enjoy them. Otherbound would be my first pick. Here's MY WOW POST

    ReplyDelete
  12. Those both sound really interesting. I really love the cover and premise for Dark Metropolis - magic, a mysterious disappearance, and a 1930s setting? Yes please!
    Other bound also sounds very intriguing, as I honestly can't think of any other books I've encountered where someone is trapped into connecting with the mind of another. Great choices!

    Thanks for visiting earlier. Happy reading!

    Jenn @ Tale of Two Doxies

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oooh I hadn't heard of either either books until now, but I totally agree that Otherbound sounds pretty interesting.

    Aly @ My Heart Hearts Books
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  14. This is the first I've seen of Otherbound. It sounds really interesting! Dark Metropolis is high on my list of books I can't wait for. Here's mine.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Sound interesting, will look into these. Thanks for sharing!

    This is our WOW of this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

    ReplyDelete
  16. Dark Metropolis sounds really intriguing. I like how it takes place in the 1930's, but also seems a little bit futuristic. Nice pick for this week! Thanks for stopping by my blog also Shane :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. I am a little obsessed with the cover of Dark Metropolis. It looks awesome. I can't believe that I hadn't heard of this book before. Thanks for sharing it Shane.

    Happy Reading!

    My WoW

    Michelle @ Book Briefs

    ReplyDelete
  18. Great picks! I am excited for both of these as well. And I just love the cover! :) Happy reading!

    Thanks for stopping by my WoW!

    Erin @ Let's Evaluate

    ReplyDelete
  19. Oooh great choices! They both sound amazing, especially Other Bound. I'll add them to the list right now:)

    Here's my WoW.

    ReplyDelete
  20. Ooh Dark Metropolis sounds super interesting. And I love that cover.
    Thanks for visiting my WoW @ The NerdHerd Reads

    ReplyDelete
  21. I've not heard of either of these but both sound pretty good :) Great picks and thanks for stopping by My WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  22. I agree with your prediction about Otherbound--sounds like The Host to me, so I'm not too psyched about it. Dark Metropolis, on the other hand? "Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare" is the perfect thing to say to grab my attention. I'm so in. Consider it added to my Goodreads.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Otherbound looks so interesting! I just might have to check that out once it releases! But I have to admit that it sort of does sound like The Host. Oh well, maybe it'll still be good. xD

    Happy reading (:
    T from YA Book Queens

    ReplyDelete
  24. I haven't ever heard of these books but they seem interesting. Enjoy.

    ReplyDelete
  25. I chose Dark Metropolis this week too! Looks amazing!

    Jennifer
    YA Sisterhood

    ReplyDelete
  26. Both books sound very interesting! Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
  27. I haven't heard of these before but they sound incredible! :) Great picks!
    Happy Wednesday ��

    ReplyDelete
  28. They both look like great choices.... interesting covers too!!

    Thanx for visiting my WoW!
    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    ReplyDelete
  29. I have added the first book to my TBR list. Thanks for visiting my wow.

    ~Karina @ Watcha Reading
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  30. I haven't head of Otherbound, but it looks good! Ugh, I want Dark Metropolis so bad it hurts a little. Great pick!

    Sabrina @ I Heart Y.A. Fiction

    ReplyDelete
  31. Both of these sound pretty impressive and I love the 1930's setting for book two. The cover whore in me is drooling..awesome picks!

    ReplyDelete
  32. I love the cover of Dark Metropolis! I haven't heard of Otherbound before, but it sounds interesting.
    Thanks for sharing & stopping by Book Munchies (:

    ReplyDelete
  33. Oh I saw Otherbound last week and another Dark Metropolis this week! Both sound great! Excellent choices Shane!

    ReplyDelete
  34. These look awesome! I'll have to add them to my TBR list.

    My WoW
    Julia @ Book Bindings Blog

    ReplyDelete
  35. I like both covers! Otherbound sounds strange and intriguing; and I really like the blurb of Dark Metropolis - thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  36. Both of these sound really interesting. Especially the first.

    ReplyDelete
  37. These are new to me but they both sound good.

    ReplyDelete
  38. I'm also looking forward to this! *hints I hope we could tour it * ;)

    :D

    Thanks for droppin by my Wednesday post!

    Michelle, The Escapist.

    ReplyDelete
  39. Dark Metropolis was my pick last week, it sounds amazing! Otherbounds sounds interesting too, plus it's tagged lgbt. I'll be looking for some reviews of it :) thanks for stopping by my blog :)

    ReplyDelete
  40. Ooooh! All those covers are gorgeous!! :>

    ReplyDelete
  41. Both of these are new to me. Otherbound looks interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  42. Both of these are new to me but Otherbound has definitely caught my attention. Great picks!

    Teresa @ Readers Live A Thousand Lives

    ReplyDelete
  43. I hadn't heard of Otherbound until now but I think it has an interesting concept. I'm looking forward to seeing the reviews for it.

    ReplyDelete

Share your thoughts. I respect them. Leave a link to your blog and I'll stop by.

Related Posts