Wednesday, November 22, 2017

CAN'T WAIT TO READ: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Release date: January 16th 2018
Publisher: Soho Teem
Pre-order: Amazon

Synopsis via Goodreads:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape--perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a "suitable" Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City--and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she's only known from afar. There's the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya's last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?


About the Author
Samira AhmedSAMIRA AHMED was born in Bombay, India, and grew up in Batavia, Illinois, in a house that smelled like fried onions, spices, and potpourri. She currently resides in the Midwest. She’s lived in Vermont, New York City, and Kauai, where she spent a year searching for the perfect mango.

A graduate of the University of Chicago, she taught high school English for seven years, worked to create over 70 small high schools in New York City, and fought to secure billions of additional dollars to fairly fund public schools throughout New York State. She’s appeared in the New York Times, New York Daily News, Fox News, NBC, NY1, NPR, and on BBC Radio. Her creative non-fiction and poetry has appeared in Jaggery Lit, Entropy, the Fem, and Claudius Speaks.


13 comments:

  1. I can't wait to read this one too! EVERYONE seems to be loving it! Great pick - I hope you love it when you read it :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah it seems like a really interesting story. Hope we all enjoy it :)

      Delete
  2. Oh, wow! How (unfortunately) timely - but maybe it will spark some good discussion! Hope you enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think it will. I like books like these

      Delete
  3. Oh I confess that this one is new to me!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Haven't tried anything like this one before but this one sounds really intriguing.

    xx
    Vanessa @ Blushing Geek

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like these kind of books. They open my eyes to things I may not have understood before. Hope we all like this story :)

      Delete
  5. This is the first time that I have seen this book but I think it sounds great! Love that cover!

    ReplyDelete
  6. have not heard of this till now, looks interesting, thank you for sharing!!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've been hearing a lot of good things about this book. It sounds like a book that will really make you sit back and reflect after reading it.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh wow, what a storyline. No wonder it's a 'can't wait' one for you, Shane!

    ReplyDelete

Share your thoughts. I respect them. Leave a link to your blog and I'll stop by.

Related Posts