Wednesday, June 28, 2017

CAN'T WAIT TO READ: Reign the Earth by A.C. Gaughen

Series: The Elementae #1
Release date: January 30th 2018
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pre-order: Amazon


Synopsis via Goodreads:

Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarlet will hold readers spellbound.


A.C. GaughenAbout the Author
A. C. GAUGHEN is the author of ScarletLady Thief and Lion Heart. She serves on the board for the non-profit Boston GLOW, creating opportunities to encourage and engage teen girls in the Greater Boston area. She has a Masters in Creative Writing from St. Andrews University in Scotland and a Masters in Education from Harvard University.

Friday, June 23, 2017

Review: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

Release date: May 16th 2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Purchase: Amazon


Synopsis via Goodreads:

When it all falls apart, who can you believe in?

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.

*I received a physical ARC from Bloomsbury in exchange for an honest review.



I finished this book a few weeks ago but was still iffy about my final verdict toward the story. For the most part, I liked the writing and the premise. Lucy is a likable character and I could relate to her in some ways, especially in regards to her faith and how she'd have doubts in what she believes in at times. I also liked the camp and the various characters she came in contact with. They each taught her something new and opened her eyes to certain situations that she may have misinterpreted prior. And in the end, I feel like her character experienced growth and was better able to understand and accept people that may not share her faith, yet realize that like her, many were going through horrible things too.

Speaking of horrible things. Cancer sucks. Whenever Lucy spoke to her mom or thought about her, it truly tugged at my heart. It was sad being her head or reading scenes where her mom is described. I could envision her sickly appearance every time, so much so that I kept hoping she'd beat it and Lucy's family would have a happy ending, which is one of the reasons why I gave the story three stars. 

I didn't like the ending. I got absolutely no closure from it and feel like I'm left in limbo wondering if there'll be some follow-up or what. Also, there were things that I felt should have been made clear from earlier. For instance, when Lucy's mom sent her to this other camp after she's been going to their church's camp for so long, the truth should've come out from then. At least how her mother is connected to this particular camp. I understand about the rest and why she withheld that big secret from Lucy, but her mom definitely should have told her sooner. 

Like I said, the writing and the story are good, but I didn't love it the way I had hoped to. And being that this is the first Emery Lord book that I've read, I was expecting a lot more since I've heard so many great things about her previous releases. Regardless, I'm still going to give her other books a shot, even though this one didn't have me completely.



Emery Lord
About the Author

Emery Lord is the author of Open Road Summer, The Start of Me and You, and When We Collided. She lives in a pink row house in Cincinnati, with a husband, two rescue dogs, and a closet full of impractical shoes. 
Emery believes in the magic of storytelling, Ferris wheels, and you.




Thursday, June 22, 2017

Release Blitz & Giveaway: Ultimate Game Changer by Kira Adams




Genre: Contemporary/Erotic Romance
Release Date: June 22, 2017

Synopsis via Goodreads:

He's my brother's best friend. When my parents died, a part of me died along with them. Nothing mattered anymore; everything lost its meaning. I lived my life in moments, good and bad, but somewhere along the way, I stopped living.

We only had each other, and Cade, he did a hell of a job looking after me. They doubted we could make it; they doubted our resolve.

Braxton has lived next door to us ever since we moved in with my aunt after the horrific accident. Cade took to him so quickly; they've been inseparable ever since. Their favorite pastime? Torturing me. But something has shifted between us recently, and I'm seeing him in a whole new light now. I know my brother will never accept it, but he's drawing me in like a moth to a flame.



He pushes off the doorframe, closing some distance between us. He is now close enough that I can feel his breath on my face when he speaks. There are droplets of water left on his chiseled chest, and he looks like he just stepped out of a magazine ad.  The hairs all over my body are standing up, and I’m worried that I am visibly shaking. God, he is going to give me hell for this.  He leans over so that his lips are dangerously close to my ear. “What’s the matter, Em? Are you feeling okay?” His breath tickles my ear and sends shivers down my spine. “What are you doing?” I ask, my voice shaky. “Nothing,” he replies, pulling away enough so I can see his face and then batting his eyelashes innocently. “I just love watching you squirm.” I push him away, annoyed. Within seconds Braxton has my back up against a wall and he is pressing into me as he trails his mouth and breath dangerously close to my ear. It takes a few moments for me to register what else I feel because I can barely catch my breath. Braxton is Cade’s best friend. I know he gets off messing with me…but he’s never taken it this far before and I feel completely out of control.




a Rafflecopter giveaway





Krista Pakseresht has always been a dreamer, from the first time she opened her eyes. Creating worlds through words is one thing she is truly talented at. She specializes in Young adult/New adult romance, horror, action, fantasy, and non-fiction under the pen name Kira Adams.

She is the author of the Infinite Love series, the Foundation series, the Darkness Falls series, and A Date with the Devil.




HOSTED BY:




Friday, June 9, 2017

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Counting On You by J.C. Reed and Jackie Steele


NEW RELEASE ★★  Counting On You is  LIVE! ★★ 



From New York Times Bestselling Author, J.C. Reed, and Jackie Steele comes a new standalone novel.



I have everything I want.



Success. Wealth. Women…and make that plenty of those. As a filthy-rich CEO, I would say I’m pretty much close to perfection. Except for that one weakness: I’m cocky as hell, and an irresistible magnet for women.

So when one tiny mistake lands me in hot waters with the investors, I have one hell of a choice to make: 

Restore my reputation… Or risk losing my company.

I’m a man of my word and failure is not an option. Not now. Not ever. I fully intend to uphold my responsibilities. 

Sharing an apartment should be easy, right? And it’s only for six weeks. 

That’s what I thought before I found out that my new roommate is female.

And wow.

Vicky Sullivan is unlike any woman I’ve ever met.

She’s hot as sin, and crazy.

Definitely not my kind of crazy, but too hot to pass up.

There’s something about her that makes me rage with want.

I don’t like her, but obviously my dick does. And what he wants, he gets.

Six weeks… 

Living together shouldn’t be too hard…

Until my best friend challenges me to a bet…

I make it my mission to make her mine.

There’s only one problem. 

I have to break…Every. Single. Rule.

And did I mention she’s completely off-limits?

It’s too late to say no. 


Author’s note – Counting On You is a full-length, standalone novel with no cliffhanger.

AMAZON US / AMAZON UK /  B&N / KOBO / GOOGLEPLAY  / iBOOKS 

455d6-goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47



GIVEAWAY (open internationally)


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Meet J.C. Reed
J.C. Reed is a New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal Bestselling author. She writes steamy contemporary romance with a touch of mystery and suspense. When she's not typing away on her keyboard, forgetting the world around her, you can find her chatting with her readers on Facebook.


    Meet Jackie Steele
Jackie Steele is a USA Today Bestselling author and a true romantic at heart. Whether reading or writing, Jackie loves dark, emotional stories that twist with your head and take you on a journey. As an ever romantic, she believes in happy endings and true love in all forms, which is reflected in all of her books.


Wednesday, June 7, 2017

CAN'T WAIT TO READ: If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak

Release date: June 27th 2017
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pre-order: Amazon


Synopsis via Goodreads:

A sparkling debut about love, family, and the mysteries of the universe.

Linny has been fascinated by disappearances, ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle of the night without saying goodbye.

Sebastian can tell you how many galaxies there are, and knows how much plutonium weighs. But the one thing he can’t figure out is the identity of his birth father. 

They’ve never met, but Linny and Sebastian have one thing in common: an obsession with famous novelist and filmmaker Alvaro Herrera, who went missing three years ago and has just reappeared. As they learn more about the mystery of Alvaro, Linny and Sebastian uncover the answers they’ve been searching for.

With humor and heart, debut author Carlie Sorosiak weaves a story of finding people who leave and loving those who stay, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Emery Lord.


About the Author
Carlie Sorosiak grew up in North Carolina and holds two master’s degrees: one in English from Oxford University and another in creative writing and publishing from City University London. Her life goals include traveling to all seven continents and fostering many polydactyl cats. She currently splits her time between the United States and the United Kingdom, hoping to gain an accent like Madonna’s.

Related Posts